Reviews and Ratings

Whatamonga Home Stay is a unique 5 star rated bed and breakfast experience located in the Marlborough Sounds, New Zealand.

Book It Guest Rating

Booknow Guest Ratings

 

TripAdvisor Reviews

TripAdvisor Ratings

 

Lonely Planet GuideLonely Planet Guide

We have appeared in the New Zealand Lonely Planet Guide since 2009.

 

"Follow Waikawa Rd, which becomes Port Underwood Rd, for 8km and you'll bump into this classy waterside accommodation with two detached, self-contained units with king-sized beds and balconies with magic views. Two other rooms under the main house (also with views) share a bathroom. Free kayaks, dinghies and fishing gear are available. Our independent authors have visited Whatamonga Home Stay and selected this as one of our recommended hotels in Picton. [+]Read More

Guest Reviews

Direct quotes from our visitors book and website reviews.

 

C Ponce My husband and I stayed for 3 nights. This is a fantastic B&B with a wonderful hostess, Colette. She made us a delicious breakfast every morning and shared stories about NZ.Did I mention she had cookies and fruit to welcome us? She was also really helpful in making last minute reservations for a wine tour. One of the mornings we went kayaking in the beautiful Bay. That was AMAZING -a bit cold- but absolutely stunning. Colette has a dinghy and kayaks for you to use. Really, her home is one of the most beautiful places we have been to and we miss waking up to that view.
February 2017
. TripAdvisor Review
Roger R Colette provided an immaculate accomodation unit set on the shore of the sound with a magnificent view. Every detail was thought out and breakfast was great. We also used the kayaks for a trip up the bay. Lots of help from Colette. Thanks for a great stay.
February 2017. Book It Review
J Lam We stayed at this piece of paradise October 2016 and will definitely stay again. We were greeted by Collette who was a joy to talk to, was very attentive to insure we were comfortable and was very knowledgeable about the Picton area and New Zealand in general. There were homemade cookies and fresh fruit in our cozy, clean, modern unit with stunning views of the sound. Enjoyed homemade jams and homemade muesli for breakfast and delicious sandwiches for our trip to our next destination. Saw lots of birds, seals, dolphins, stingray, ferries, ships, etc. Would have been great to stay longer than 2 days. Exceptional value. Exceeded expectations.
January 2017. TripAdvisor Review
Regina Wonderful homestay, unbelievable views. Colette was very friendly, thanks for the nice evening.
January 2017. Book It Review
Lyn Our family of six had a wonderful visit at Whatamonga Homestay. This very nice bed and breakfast sits above the Marlborough Sounds though a quick walk takes you to the rocky beach below. The views are spectacular, even on the one rainy day we had. Colette is a terrific host and is always willing to answer questions about local restaurants and activities. Her breakfasts were amazing and included a hot baked treat each day. If we are ever lucky enough to return to Picton, we will stay here again.
December 2016. TripAdvisor Review
Jean Superb view on a well catered room and most important a very warm welcome and everyday chat at breakfadt with Colette. Recommended.
April 2016. Book It Review
Katie The whole package was amazing, stunning views, accommodation very comfortable and sharing the lifestyle for 3 days which was so different. Picton a drive away and if open the drive on the back road to Nelson has such great views at every turn. Thank you Collette for your advice and for having us at your very very special Homestay.
October 2015. TripAdvisor Review
James R After spending 5 weeks in NZ, Whatamonga was in our top 3 experiences. It is just minutes from the ferry on Queen Charlotte Sound. Spectacular views from your room and bed in either of their 2 chalets, along with a balcony that puts you in the treetops. Colette was a great host, inviting us for cocktails when we arrived and even taking care of my wife when she hurt her knee by bringing her soup and other goodies. We used their kayaks to paddle among hundreds of pink jellyfish in the protected inlet. and watched the ferries and sailboats in the distance as the sunset. Breakfasts were hot and great. Extended our stay as we loved the location. Both beautiful and peaceful.
May 2015. TripAdvisor Review